0 items / $0.00



Image of GROSS REALITY - Overthrow [BOOTCAMP SERIES #12]


GROSS REALITY’s origins go as far back as 1991 when Daniel Powell (bass/vocals) and Jason Wheeler (drums) bonded over their mutual affinity for all things thrash metal. During the group’s initial stages the line-up was never in-synch until guitarists’ Roland Arthur and Shawn McCoy both joined their ranks. Once GROSS REALITY’s core was solidified into a unified unit, the group gigged around North and South Carolina, opening for acts such as Cannibal Corpse, Deicide, Bolt Thrower, Unleashed, and local faves, Confessor.

In 1996, with the metal scene on the ropes, GROSS REALITY decided to call it a day. Normally, when a band throws in the towel they have a musical legacy they've left behind in some recorded form, but shockingly, GROSS REALITY never got a chance to release any recordings.

Divebomb Records is changing that now.

Reforming in 2009, GROSS REALITY quickly cleaned off the cobwebs and jumped right back into the fray, supporting the likes of Death Angel, Evile and Bonded By Blood. However, not wanting to repeat the errors of their youth, the band enlisted world renowned producer, and North Carolina native, Jamie King to oversee their long overdue debut album, Overthrow. Nearly 25 years in the making (or waiting depending on your perspective) GROSS REALITY delivers a relentlessly high-octane blast of thrash metal. Overthrow is a testament to the idea that it's never too late to truly hit your mark as a band.

Powermad, Testament, Annihilator, Strapping Young Lad and Death Angel

Limited Edition CD – only 500 units pressed worldwide – full color 8 page booklet with lyrics - produced by Jamie King - artwork by Ben Chaney

1. Worthless Humans
2. Dirt Filled Skulls
3. Save Yourself
4. Generation 36
5. Haunting The Waters
6. 13 O’Clock
7. I’m Absent
8. Human Resign
9. Sleep Into Dreams
10. Overthrow